[This story isn’t from me, and I am just rewriting it from memory. The original author is a business professor called Mark Albion.]

.

.

A businessman is on vacation on a hot and sunny island in the middle of the ocean.

On the beach, he meets a fisherman whose only possessions are a little canoe and the most basic fishing equipment.

– “What are you doing, my little friend?”, says the businessman.

– “I am preparing my boat, sir”, says the fisherman.

– “Do you go fishing every day?”

– “Yes, every morning.”

– “And then?”, asks the businessman.

– “Then I come back with my catch about an hour later. I sell a couple of fish, and I keep one for my family”.

– “And then?”

– “Then we cook the fresh fish and some local veggies.”

– “And then?”

– “Then, after lunch I spend the rest of the day with my little children. We take our time to talk, laugh, read, study together. Whenever they are tired, they take a nap, I make love to my wife, and we all rest under the trees.”

– “And then?”

– “Then we cook dinner, tell each other stories around the fire, and we all go to sleep.”, says the fisherman.

– “That’s it? My little friend, let me explain something to you. First, you should automate your work. Get more fish, sell more, and with the profits, you buy a bigger boat.

– “And then?”, asks the fisherman.

– “Then, in less than 10 years of hard work, you will have a huge boat and you will be managing many employees.”

– “And then?”

– “Then, you can buy a second boat, and do this again. This is a scalable business model, my little friend!”

– “And then?”

– “Then, by the time you’re 50 or 60, you’re the President of a fishing empire, and you make billions!”

– “And then?”

– “Then you can buy and do whatever you want!”

– “Like what?”

– “Like working one hour per day, spend time with your children, make love to your wife, and take naps whenever you want.”